Birthstones and Chakra


Monthly Birthstone Colours

Each month of our birth is also linked to a birthstone colour.

January - Deep Red
February - Purple
March - Pale Blue
April - White
May - Green
June - White or Purple
July - Red
August - Pale Green
September - Deep Blue
October - Pink
November - Yellow
December - Blue





Chakra Colours


Base chakra - 1st chakra - Red and Black
Sacral chakra - 2nd chakra - Orange
Solar Plexus chakra - 3rd chakra - Yellow
Heart chakra - 4th chakra - Green and Pink
Throat chakra - 5th chakra - Blue
Third Eye chakra - 6th chakra - Indigo
Crown chakra - 7th chakra - Violet and White




BASE CHAKRA - 1st Chakra
Located at the base of the spine.  Colour is red (representing passion for life) or black (signifying stability or grounding).
Governed by the adrenal glands, it looks after our bones, teeth, nails, spinal column, anus, rectum, colon, prostate gland, blood and cell building.
The base chakra controls our “grounding” to the earth and is associated with all our survival instincts and self-preservation.  Relates also to the physical body, individuality, stability and security.

Stones: Garnet, Smoky Quartz, Obsidian, Black Onyx & Hematite


 SACRAL CHAKRA - 2nd Chakra
Located at about three inches below the navel.  Colour is orange (representing creativity and wisdom).
Governed by the gonads, it looks after our pelvic girdle, reproductive organs, kidneys, bladder and all body liquids.
The sacral chakra is associated with our relationships with others, our ability in giving and receiving, sexual / passionate love, and our creativity.

Stones: Red Jasper, Carnelian, Orange Quartz & Orange Calcite


Located just below the ribs.  Colour is yellow (representing analytical thought and intellectual activity).
Governed by the pancreas, it looks after our lower back, abdomen, digestive system, stomach, liver, spleen, gallbladder and nervous system.
The solar plexus chakra is our emotional centre.  It aids in control of the “digestion of life”, thus the power and control over our lives.

Stones: Citrine, Amber, Apatite, Imperial Topaz,& Tiger's Eye (gold)


 HEART CHAKRA - 4th Chakra
Located at centre of chest at the level of the heart.  Colour is green (representing healing and balance) or pink (signifying unconditional love and compassion).
Governed by the thymus gland, it looks after our heart, upper back, lower lungs, blood, circulatory system and the skin.
The heart chakra is about unconditional love, connection, acceptance, transformation and powerful healing.  It is the centre of compassion, love, group consciousness and spirituality associated with a “oneness” with “all that is”.  It balances and bridges between the lower three chakras and the upper three chakras.

Stones: Ruby, Kunzite, Rhodonite, Aventurine, Moss Agate, Green Jade, Chinese Serpentine, Malachite & Chrysoprase


 THROAT CHAKRA - 5th Chakra
Located at the throat.  Colour is blue (representing knowledge of, and oneness with, divine guidance).
Governed by the thyroid gland, it looks after our neck, throat and jaw, vocal chords, respiratory system, alimentary canal and arms.
The throat chakra is our communication centre, thus giving us our ability to verbally express ourselves and to be able to have open, clear communication of feelings and thoughts.  Ability to release.  It is the gateway to the Higher Consciousness and the gateway through which the emotions contained in the heart pass, to become balanced and harmonized.

Stones: Sodalite, Blue Lace Agate, Lapis Lazuli & Blue Calcite


 THIRD EYE CHAKRA - 6th Chakra
Located between and approximately one finger space above the brow.  Colour is indigo (representing the search and attainment of spiritual purpose).
Governed by the pituitary gland, it looks after our face, left eye, ears, nose, sinuses, cerebellum (lower brain) and central nervous system.
The third eye chakra is involved with our intuition and our inner seeing, our higher consciousness, emotional and spiritual love centre.

Stones: Amethyst


 CROWN CHAKRA - 7th Chakra
Located at the crown of the head.  Colour is violet (representing enlightenment) or white (signifying purity, perfection and bliss).
Governed by the pineal gland, it looks after our cerebrum (upper brain) and right eye.
The crown chakra is the centre of an individual’s spirituality, enlightenment, dynamic thoughts and energy – our very essence.  It allows for the inward flow of wisdom from the ethers and brings the gift of cosmic consciousness.  When stimulated and clear, it enables one to see the truth concerning illusory ideals, materialistic pursuits and self-limiting concepts.  It further allows one to experience continuous self-awareness and conscious detachment from personal emotions.

Stones: Clear Quartz, Moonstone, Selenite & Natural Howlite